Feature: Davido, Phyno, Olamide, Seyi Shay, and Mayorkun Win NEA Awards

By damolat, Lagos Nigeria.

The Nigerian Entertainment Awards, NEA is an entertainment award ceremony that celebrates and recognizes the outstanding contributions of entertainers to the African Entertainment Industry. Held yearly in the United States, the award ceremony is dedicated to promoting the image and rich culture of Nigeria in the continent and around the globe.

Hosted by the American-born Nigerian singer, Emma Nyra, the 12th edition of NEA held on Saturday, November 25th, 2017 at Symphony Space Peter Sharp Theatre, New York.

Emma Nyra slaying in a gorgeous dress at NEA Awards 2017

Emma Nyra slaying in a gorgeous dress at NEA Awards 2017

Davido and Olamide were the big winners of the ceremony. Davido won the awards for “Best Afro-pop Male Artist of the Year,” and “Hottest Single of the Year for his hit song, If.” Olamide took home the awards for “Best Album for his album, Glory” and “Rap Act of the Year.” Mayorkun won the award for “Best New Act,” Phyno won the “Indigenous Artist of the Year” award  while Seyi Shay won the award for “Afro-pop Female Artist of the Year.” Patoranking took home the “Dancehall Artist” Awards, and Sheyman and Yinka Rythmz scooped the Trailblazer Awards.

Dr.(Ms.) Bimbo Adighije, founder of CFF Africa Foundation and Mr. Bankole Omishore received the humanitarian and Pioneer awards respectively.

The star-studded event saw the following artistes in attendance: Davido, Olamide, Seyi Shay, DJ Self, Young Paris, Barbee, Gbenro Ajibade, Dremo, Korto Davies, Sheyman, ID Cabasa, DJ Enimoney, Danagog, Dotman, D12, Kobazzie, DJ Fluker, Jaycube, Owo, B-Red, Hameed, Yinka Rythmz, Ms Ayodelay, Felix “Zeusi” Omozusi, DJ Stramborella, Dr Frabz, DJ Prince, DJ Phemstar, Innocent Onwubiko, Sudan amongst others.

The event also featured smoking-hot performances from Olamide, Mayorkun, amongst others.

See the full list of winners:


Album of the Year: Glory (Olamide)

Hottest Single of the Year: If (Davido)

Afro-Pop Male Artist of the Year: Davido

Afro-Pop Female Artist of the Year: Seyi Shay

Rap Act of the Year: Olamide

Dancehall Artist: Patoranking

Best Collabo of the Year: Iskaba – Wande Coal & DJ Tunez

Best Music Video of the Year (Director): Meji Alabi for Seyi Shay’s “Yolo Yolo”

Best New Act: Mayorkun

Indigenous Artist of the Year: Phyno

Diaspora Artist of the Year: Jidenna

Inspirational Artist of the Year: Sinach

Most Promising Act to Watch: Deshinor

Music Producer of the Year: Krisbeatz

African Male Artist of the Year (Non-Nigerian): Toofan

African Female Artist of the Year (Non-Nigerian): Becca

AfroSoca: Machel Montano



Best Actor: Ramsey Nouah (76)

Best Actress: Funke Akindele (A Trip to Jamaica)

Supporting Actor: AY (A Trip to Jamaica)

Supporting Actress: Kehinde Bankole (The Dinner)

Film Director: Steve Gukas (93 Days)

Best Picture: The Wedding Party

Best Lead Role in TV: Oreka Godis (Our Best Friend’s Wedding)

Best Lead Role in Film (Non-Nigerian / Africa): Korto Davies

Best TV Show: Big Brother Naija



Best Disc Jockey: DJ Prince

Diaspora Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Phemstar (U.S.)

Africa Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Slick Stuat & Roja (UG)

Entertainment Executive of the Year: Tobi Sanni Daniel

OAP of the Year: Big Tak (Urban FM)

TV Presenter: Seyitan (The Sauce)

Best Comedy Act: Woli Arole & Asiri

Photographer: Kelechi Amadi


Credit: @neaawards, neaawards.org

Most Read Stories

MyMusic TOP10