All About the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards 2018 + Full List of Winners Feature:

By Kingsley, Lagos Nigeria.


The just-concluded VGMA 2018 awards saw the convergence of great African artistes at the Accra International Conference Center, Accra, Ghana on Saturday, the 14th of April, 2018.


The show which was hosted by Ghanian actor, John Dumelo, and Berla Mundi, had an opening performance from the 2017 Artiste of the year, Gospel Musician, Joe Mettle, where he performed his popular ‘Bo Noo Ni’ & ‘Onwanwani’.


Honorary awards were given to Dominic Quashie, Amamer3 Music & Dance Group, and Naa Amanoa Dodoo. Ebony Reigns was posthumously crowned the Artiste of the Year 2018 where she beat her four contenders- Sarkodie, Stonebwoy, Shatta Wale and Joe Mettle and also became the first female artiste to ever win the award.


The night also saw the ‘Maame Hw3’ crooner, posthumously win a total of 4 awards. Sarkodie also walked away with 4 awards too. The VGMA 2018 saw great performances from some of Africa’s best musical acts- Sarkodie, Samini, King Promise, Stonebwoy, Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) and Nasty C (South Africa).


In an interesting twist to events, dancehall artiste Stonebwoy sent a special shout-out to his rival Shatta Wale. He acknowledged his rival while receiving his ‘Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year’ award. This marks the fourth consistent win of the award by the musician.

He said:

“I know this is going to be crazy. Shout out to my other brother…It’s all love. The struggle is real but it’s all love”


Thus drawing loud cheers and applauds from fans. The two have been at loggerheads for a very long time and it all became worse when Shatta Wale was signed into the same record label (Zylofon Music) as Stonebwoy.

He went on to acknowledge his label boss, Nana Appiah Mensah.

He said:


“I love you. You are my brother…”


Check the full list of winners below


Artistes of the Year
Ebony (Winner)
Joe Mettle
Shatta Wale


Unsung Category
Kelvyn Boy (Winner)
Dope Nation
Dhat Gyal
Real MC


Gospel of the Year
Bo Noo Ni – Joe Mettle (Winner)
Boot for Boot – Joyce Blessing
Obi Nyanime – Patience Nyarko
Bo Noo Ni – Joe Mettle
Efatawo – Nacee
Adom – Gifty Osei
Jehovah – Ceccy Twum


Hip-hop Song of the Year
Grind Day Remix – Kwesi Arthur (Winner)
State of the Art – Teephlow
Light it up – Sarkodie
Pen and Paper – Ko-jo Cue & Shaker
Dear God – B4bonah


Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year
My Own – Samini (Winner)
Until the Dawn – Efya
My Name – Stonebwoy
Faya Burn Dem – Article Wan
Rewind – Mzvee
Dem Confuse – Shatta Wale


Highlife Song of the Year
Odo – Kidi (Winner)
Dream – Kumi Guitar
Bronya – Wutah
Angela – Kuami Eugene
Ladder – Lil Win
Over – R2bees
Hustle – Ebony


Hiplife Artiste of the Year
Total Cheat – Fancy Gadam Ft. Sarkodie (Winner)
Boys Boys – Nancee Ft. Guru
Pain Killer – Sarkodie Ft. Runtown
Obi Agyi obi Girl- Captain Planet
Ayoo – Shatta Wale
One Corner – Patapaa Ft. Ras Cann


Afro-pop Song of the Year
Sponsor – Ebony (Winner)
Makoma – Adina
Oh Yeah – King Promise
Say You Love Me – Kidi
Sing My Name – Mzvee
Jennifer Lomotey – Kurl Songx
My Baby – Magnon
Come From Afar – Stonebwoy


Gospel Artiste of the Year
Joe Mettle (Winner)
Patience Nyarko
Joyce Blessing
Celestine Donkor
Gifty Osei


Highlife Artiste of the Year
Kuami Eugene (Winner)


Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year
Stonebwoy (Winner)
Shatta Wale


Songwriter of the Year
Bullet – Maame Hwe (Winner)
Kumi Guitar – Dream
Joe Mettle- Bo Noo Ni
Kofi Kinaata – Last Show
Samini – My own
Stonebwoy – My Name
Record of the Year
Teephlow – State of the Art
Kumi Guitar – Dream
Samini – My own
Sarkodie – Glory


Best Music Video of the Year
Captain Planet – Obi Agyi Obi (Directed by Phamous Films) (Winner)
Kumi Guitar- Dream (Directed by Abass)
King Promise – Selfish ( Directed by Vertex)
B4bonah – My Girl (Directed by Nicol-Sey)
Opanka – Wedding Car (Directed by Bra Shizzle)
Lil Shaker & Ko-jo-Cue – Pen & Paper (Directed by Ekumodzi)


Hiplife/Hip-hop artiste of the Year
Sarkodie (Winner)
Yaa Pono
Captain Planet
Kwesi Arthur


Best Male Vocalist of the Year
Joe Mettle – Bo Noo Ni (Winner)
King Promise – Selfish
Kidi – Odo
Kuami Eugene – Angela
Mugeez – Over
Samini – My own.


Best Female Vocalist of the Year
Adina – Makoma (Winner)
Nana Yaa – Don’t leave alone
Efya – Love
Mzvee – Bright light
Becca – Summye (Pillow)


Best Group of the Year
Wutah (Winner)



Best Rapper of the Year
Sarkodie – Light it up (Winner)
Eno Barony – Fear no man
Teephlow – Phlowducation
Lil Shaker – Pen & Paper
Ko-Jo Cue – Pen & Paper
Strongman – Transformer


Best Collaboration of the Year
Shatta Wale Ft. SM Militants – Taking Over (Winner)
Joe Mettle Ft. Luigi Maclean – Bo noo ni
MzVee Ft. Patoranking – Sing my name remix
Kurl Songx Ft. Sarkodie – Jennifer Lomotey
Sarkodie Ft. Runtown – Pain Killer
Captain Planet Ft. Kofi Kinaata – Obi Agyi Obi Girl
Becca Ft. Patoranking – Na Wash



Best African Artiste of the Year
Davido (Winner)
Cassper Nyovest
Nasty C
Tiwa Savage


Best New Artiste of the Year
Kuami Eugene (Winner)
King Promise
Kurl Songx
Kwesi Arthur


Song of the Year
Total Cheat – Fancy Gadam Ft. Sarkodie (Winner)
Sponsor – Ebony
Odo – Kidi
Angela – Kuami Eugene
Taking Over – Shatta Wale Ft. SM Millitants
One Corner – Patapaa Ft. Rad Cann
Bo Noo Nii – Joe Mettle Ft. Luigi Maclean
Obi Agyi Obi Girl – Captain Planet Ft. Kofi Kinaata.
My Baby – Magnom ft Joey B
Oh Yeah – King Promise
Pain Killer – Sarkodie feat. Runtown



Album of the Year
Bonified – Ebony (Winner)
Epistles of Mama – Stonebwoy
Daavi – MzVee
Highest – Sarkodie

Most Read Stories

MyMusic TOP10